top of page

Guest Blog Post: Lucy Creber


I know I am a fashion blogger, but I feel like my lifestyle pieces and the topics that I talk about are well received. I am a fun fashion blogger who talks about serious stuff that has happened to me, or that I see around me.

My name is Lucy Creber of Style Irregular! I am a lifestyle & fashion blogger who lives in Glasgow. I am a 29-year-old, dyslexic, cat loving, gym addicted, no filtered, anxious mental health advocate blogger, hopefully soon to be vlogger!

When and Why did you start blogging?

I started my blog in January 2018… so it is still a wee fledgling blog! Only 7 months old!

Ahaha, I genuinely feel like it’s my new baby! I had wanted to start a blog for over 5 years… yeah, I know. Over 5 years ago, I wanted to start a blog, and I never did.

It was always in the back of my mind, but I always came up with excuses. In fact, I talk about this in my first ever blog post! (The first of many). But basically, I was procrastinating because I was scared.

I started blogging this year… well it is a LONG story, but it all started after I graduated my masters in international fashion marketing with a distinction.

I was so happy and proud of all my hard work paying off. I had not only got into a masters (which I was told by my previous university that I wouldn’t be able to because I only got a third in my honours degree), but I got a really good mark… and not only that, but even though am dyslexic, my dissertation won the best dissertation prize out of everyone in my course!

I’ve been told before that this sounds like I am bragging, but I am not. It is a fact. I worked my ass off to get to that point. I had many sleepless nights and had many breakdowns in the library. When you are so stressed out, you laugh hysterically and then start crying. I would forget to eat, forget to sleep, lived in the library and pushed aside all my friends and family.

This made me realise that the more work I put into something, the better I get the results I aspired to achieve (I should’ve realised this sooner I know… but I have very bad anxiety and low self-esteem, so I didn’t fully try before for fear of embarrassing myself).

I didn't want to start blogging because I thought I was average at everything… and I didn’t think that anyone would care what I had to say or wear, which potentially they still might not.. And that's fine!

After all that hard work, I still couldn’t find a job. I wanted to be a social media manager for an international fashion company… I know what kind of job I want, and I had already interned at a fashion magazine for 2 years, so I did not want to intern again. And yet I still could not find a job. I kept getting told the same thing - that I didn't have enough experience. Well… how can I get experience if you won’t hire me? I can’t get a job without experience, and yet, I can't get an experience without a job; it’s a catch 22 situation.

However, one failed job interview lead to the best feedback I’d ever gotten; I needed to get campaign experience - fashion campaign experience. I needed to understand the logistics behind what goes into a fashion blog and how to market it. That was it! That was when I thought to myself - right no more excuses, no more “if onlys.” I was going to start my blog. That resolve and my friend Wee Posty helped me start. I honestly can't think Wee Posty enough ... if it weren't for her I never would’ve been able to start my blog at all.

What do you blog about? How often do you blog?

I blog once a week. I would like to post more, but I don't want to post something just for the sake of posting, and yet, I wanted to stick to a consistent schedule. So I felt that realistically, for me, once a week is sustainable.

I blog about my ponderings. I spend a lot of time in my thoughts and in my experiences, what insight I’ve gained from them and what I still need to learn. I feel like mental health is a huge issue, and if more people talk about it and normalize it, then it will start a ripple effect.

Hopefully it will lead to others opening up about how they are feeling/suffering. I also have done one or two fashion related pieces. Because, for me, fashion is the fun side of my blog; my content is so serious, but my fashion style and photos are so silly and smile-y. I am a massive fan of contrasts! Ahaha

How does your blog help others?

I’m not sure if my blog does help others… I hope it does! Ahaha I guess I’d like to help people open up about their mental health OR even if they like what I am wearing and get inspiration from that, then that is always lovely.

I really like it when people like what I am wearing or how I am putting stuff together, and then they try it too. Both make me feel so happy and giddy.

In your opinion, why is fashion important today?

Fashion has always been important. As much as people hate to say it… it is. It says something about you and who you are. It can help you portray your identity and self-expression.

Even if you don't like fashion, you need to wear clothes… you cannot just walk about the streets naked. Well you could… but in the winter that would be totally impractical.

Also, the fashion industry is a huge creator of jobs, in the UK alone it hires 555,000 people. It is a huge boost to the economy. I genuinely believe that everyone should work in retail at least once in their life… because if they did, then they would be a lot nicer to works in all forms of service jobs and then no one would be rude to anyone! Ahaha.

Do you have a message that you want to convey with your fashion choices?

My message is that fashion is fun!

Ahaha it can be a fun way to express yourself or experiment with new things and feel good. I take so many things so seriously, that I see fashion as a fun way to try new things. I am not saying that you shouldn’t take it seriously because I know that people do and that is amazing. I have my moments when I do too.

And another message is that there is no box! I called myself style irregular because I do not want to describe myself as one type of style. I get in moods when I want to combine different ones together or just go for one flavour… it all depends on my mood or what I see that I love!

How did you become interested in fashion?

I guess through my mum. She is a very stylish woman and takes great pride in her appearance and her home. But she is also very natural. She likes to wear patterned stuff together or mix and match stuff, and I guess I am a slightly quirkier tanned version of her.

I also became interested by everyone around me. Ahaha, I love seeing how others put outfits together and getting inspiration from EVERYONE. I love it when someone is bold and unapologetically themselves… they have that confidence to wear whatever the hell they want, and they look amazing in it! It is so much fun to people watch!

Why and how do you pair your fashion styles with your blog posts and the topics you cover inside them?

Like I said before, I love contrasts… I cannot express enough how much I love contrasts. I think it all comes from me being adopted. My sister and I are polar opposites to our family.

I like meeting people and finding out their different layers and who they really are. I like people that don't allow themselves to be a certain way because society or people tell them to be… But they are unique to them.

Anyways sorry… went on a tangent.. Again! I tend to do that often.

My posts and images have nothing to do with each other than the fact I have a topic I wanted to share with anyone and the outfit I happened to be wearing was whatever it was.

What are some of your boldest style choices and why did you make them?

I actually don't know… I think every fashion thing I do is kind of bold?

I'm not entirely sure… potentially because my style changes so often that it isn't really bold so much as different!

 

Catch Lucy at:

Her blog: https://styleirregular.com/

Twitter: @LucyCreber

Facebook: @styleirregular

Instagram: @lulucreber

Pinterest: @LucyCreber

Linkedin: @LucyCreber

Related Posts
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page