top of page

My Knocking Door


The world lured me in with playful lust

Only to hurt and betray my trust

Before I knew the great consequence of sin

The door was open; the enemy was in.

The cruelty of my tormentor knew no bounds

My mind became his personal playgrounds

Not a moment of rest; each act one of shame

Never was there an instant without pain

But even though I did not understand the Salvation You bare

Through the darkness, You were still there

Slowly, surely, I answered Your gentle knock

I let You in; and You tended Your flock

God alone saved me from fate

He first showed me His kind face

So gradually I learned His ways

And ever since then my heart earnestly prays:

My daily prayer. My only request

Change my heart for the best

Make me Yours forever more

And never stop knocking at my door

 

I hope you enjoyed reading My Knocking Door. This poem means a lot to me. I wrote it when I was 19 years old, in a time when I could look back on my life and truly see how God had rescued me from depression. I gave my life to the Lord years before, but this was the moment I committed to Him. I opened my heart to Him and I never regretted it.


God is so good. Since I wrote this poem, He has helped me through hard times and blessed me with happy times. God will never leave me. I am so grateful to be a Christian and have a relationship with Jesus.


My daily prayer hasn't changed, but my heart has, opening me up from my shyness and giving me purpose. I will always be God's and I'll always run to open the door when He knocks.

Related Posts

See All
Related Posts
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page