top of page

Free Writing Splendour


Free Writing is an amazing way to loosen up those creative juices. With no expectations or limits, I love to let my thoughts flow onto the page using as many "forbidden" adverbs and words as I like. It's a way to let go of those so-called rules and splash your expression onto the page. Many writers use free writing as stimulating activities to overcome writers block or self-criticism.

I see it also as a way to relax. By allowing my thoughts to flow into imagery, I find an incredible freedom to express myself through random scenes. Whether writing about a snapshot of thought or weaving a mini plot into existence, free writing is a splendour of colourful expression.

I hang onto every one of these activities I do, because they mean a lot to me. Some were sparked by a writing prompt I saw. Others came about because of life experiences. Still others by things I've observed in the world around me. There is no limit to what free writing can be.

Below, are 3 of my recent free writing splendours. The first came about after a trip I took to my local aquarium. I saw a huge cylinder tank of hypnotically beautiful jellyfish. If you looked close enough, it appeared like they were floating around the room. That image was stuck in my mind one afternoon when I was needing a release from some stress and I happened to be looking up some colourful words on Pinterest which I worked into the piece.

The second free writing activity I'll share is one that I wrote because of a prompt I received from a writing group. The prompt featured a girl in a forest and it brought red riding hood to my mind instantly. So I wrote a little twist to the famous tale. Finally, the last piece is a snapshot of thought which I wrote as a response to an emotional post about bullying that I'd read.

I hope you enjoy reading my free writing. Take a look at the pictures I included with each and write your own free writing pieces. Let your creativity fly, free of limits, expressing you - real and liberated.

Impossible Swimmers

The impossible is only a challenge not yet conquered. My thoughts slurred together. Cold floor pressed against my face. The impossible floated above me in multitudes, casting round shadows over the tiles. My fingers twitched. The challenge to spring to life again, to move. Ethereal shades danced, drops of light licking my eyelids. Oblivion melted away, letting in the spark of epiphany that shot air into my lungs. Eyes opening, I saw my breath condense.

My muscles burned. Stretching, dragging, my limbs responded sluggishly. My impossible attackers loomed above me and I lay supine to face them. Reality rarely surprises you like this. Such a mozzafiato sight in the plainest room of my house. The kitchen has transformed into a waterless tank, impossible swimmers expanding and contracting through the air. The round jellyfish swarmed, early morning twilight refracting through them from the open windows. They mindlessly bobbed through the air, bumping into each other and swirling gracefully.

“Flying jellyfish..” I wheezed, naming the phenomenon like that’ll help me understand it. A certain power might be found in names. That seemed not to be in this case.

Tentacles swayed like translucent curtains – strips of poisonous matter that had already rendered me unconscious once. My breath stuttered with my rational thought. It was impossible to escape. No. It was a challenge not yet conquered.

Bad Wolf Returns

The trees looked down at their thin bases as a curious figure walked between them. The sway of their leaves seemed to follow her, unseen eyes attempting to peer under her red hood. She kept her face in a shadow and left no easy tracks, her steps as precise and graceful as a dancer.

Deeper in the forest, she suddenly halted and looked back. The sun caught her face and the wind howled in shock. Her royal features appeared calm as she scanned for danger. No sight of another but she stayed still, waiting until a faint breathing confirmed her suspicion.

"I know you're here," she said. "I know you used to work for my mother. She promised you peace as long as she reigned... She reigns no more and peace is a fleeting luxury." A snarl came from behind her, close. A shiver cascaded over her. "I need your help."

A wolf-like grunt replied and she spun around. A man stood two paces away, head and shoulders above the tallest man she'd ever seen. Wolf skins were strapped around him and his back hunched like he'd become the animal he'd slaughtered.

"Princess," he growled. "Your mother was wise to leave me be. Why should I help you?"

"Because war is here and fighting together is our only chance. They had a name for you before. Maybe it could now bring hope rather than fear. If you will agree to it?"

He smiled, bloodlust soaked into his words. "Bad Wolf returns."

Halfway Out of the Dark

Sometimes people underestimate the power of words.

We say things carelessly. Without thinking about the impact.

Without thinking about the person we say it to.

We think,

it's only words.

It's not like it's a knife or a gun.

Words can't really hurt you.

That's where we're wrong.

Words hurt more.

Being stabbed or shot shatters the body, but words have the power to shatter the soul.

I know. I know as well as anyone.

Those scars run deep and they can't be healed.

Not fully.

That time might be long gone and forgiven. But it will always be a part of me.

It's a part of who I am now.

Sure it was hell and it nearly killed me, but you know what they say about things that don't kill you.

They only make you stronger.

A diamond isn't made with kitten gloves.

It's put through the fire and comes out beautiful.

And when you bring it out into the sun, it shines and beams, lighting a way for others to follow.

Giving hope, calling out..

"We're halfway out of the dark."

Related Posts

See All
Related Posts
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page